Gracie Jiu Jitsu Knoxville, Hollywood actress fall in love with Jiu Jitsu

Alicia Sixtos of Gracie Barra Stars in East Los High

Jiu-Jitsu is universally appealing. Aside from the great workout on the mats, the lifestyle that it promotes (as well as the discipline and the philosophy) has been proven to change lives.

>MV5BMTUzNDQ5ODA4NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzU0NzIzMQ@@._V1._SY314_CR5,0,214,314_Alicia Sixtos (her screen name) is a Hollywood actress training in Gracie Barra Santa Barbara. Her new found love for Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu makes grind it out on the mats 2-3 times a week. Her acting resume stretches from minor roles in CSI and Entourage.

Landing a major role in the new series East Los High, Ms. Alicia honored us with a short interview about her newly started out journey with Gracie Barra

3 months ago, I started training Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. My sister started before me and I sat in and for a while before I joined, Alicia says.

Her acting career started out when she was 15 as she explains, I started acting when I was 15. I had my first role in a film called quinecera (2006) did small gigs up until a couple years ago when I started booking gigs that were a little more popular with a little more dialogue.

East Los High is the first lead in a series I’ve ever had. I’ve had representation forever but i actually submitted myself for this project. There was a long auditioning process. I booked and shot the pilot in October 2011. Then they had me audition again for the show when they got a bunch of producers to support the 26 episode series. I had to audition like 5 more times until finally they decided I was Maya. We shot all summer last year and we just got news that it will now be exclusively shown on Hulu starting June 3rd she concludes.

Leave a Reply

